Enable Accessibility

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowships awarded

Three North Country public school teachers recognized for excellence

CONCORD, NH (PRESS RELEASE) – The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation recently announced its eighth year of recipients for the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship. The 2015 recipients are Lorna Holcombe, a reading and math interventionist for K–5 at Groveton Elementary School in Groveton, N.H.; Alicia W. Boire, a business education teacher at Colebrook Academy in Colebrook, NH; and Sandy K. Pouliot, a grade 5 classroom teacher at Hillside Elementary School in Berlin, NH.

Each recipient will receive $10,000 for their extraordinary teaching abilities and commitment to education. Established in 2006, the fellowship program has the dual purpose of retaining good teachers in North Country schools and recognizing excellence in teaching in public schools.

“I am always amazed by how many passionate educators we have in the North Country,” said Peter Benson, senior program officer at the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation. “The fellowship allows us to recognize their success in the classroom and help raise public awareness about the value of excellence in education.”

Since 2006, the Louise Tillotson Fellowship has awarded $301,500 to North Country public school educators. Any kindergarten through 12th grade public school teacher in the North Country, with a preference for teachers in Coos County public schools, is eligible. Applications for the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship are reviewed by Foundation staff and a volunteer selection committee. A small number of finalists are then invited to a personal interview with the selection committee. Application materials are available at www.nhcf.org.

The Louise Tillotson Fellowship Selection Committee includes: Peter Benson, New Hampshire Charitable Foundation; Rolanda Duchesne, United Way and former North Country board member of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation; Katharine Eneguess, president emeritus of White Mountains Community College; Irene Mosedale, retired educator; Susan Wyman, retired educator; Gail Paine, former New Hampshire school board member; and Richard Bond, Nancy Edwards, Linda Bennion, Judy Jacques, Lisa Kenny, Sharon Atkinson, Michele Johnsen, Stephanie Lyons, Tricia Webb, Karen Laroche, Mary Trask, Cate DiBlasi and Michelle Ladd, educators and former award recipients.

About the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation

The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation was created in 1962 by and for the people of New Hampshire, and is dedicated to strengthening communities across the Granite State. The Foundation manages a growing collection of 1,700 philanthropic funds created by generous families, individuals and businesses, and awards more than $30 million in grants and scholarships every year. The Foundation invests charitable assets for today and tomorrow; works with generous and visionary citizens to maximize the power of their giving; supports critical work happening in New Hampshire communities and leads and collaborates on high-impact initiatives. For more information, please visit www.nhcf.org or call 603-225-6641.