Enable Accessibility

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowships awarded to three North Country teachers

Since 2007, the Louise Tillotson Fellowship has awarded $445,100 to North Country public school educators

CONCORD, NH (PRESS RELEASE) – The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation announced its 11th year of recipients for the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship. Established in 2006, the fellowship program has the dual purpose of retaining good teachers in North Country schools and recognizing excellence in teaching in public schools.

The 2019 recipients of the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship are: Melissa Jellison, STEAM Coordinator at White Mountains Regional High School in Whitefield; Kate Moore, second-grade teacher at Brown Elementary School in Berlin; and Deborah Sargent, Art Educator at Pittsburg School. Each recipient will receive $10,000 for her extraordinary teaching abilities and commitment to education.

“The Louise Tillotson Fellowship committee is thrilled to recognize the outstanding and innovative work of these three educators who have committed themselves to the students and families of the North Country,” said Jean Clarke, who administers the fellowship program at the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation.

Since 2007, the Louise Tillotson Fellowship has awarded $445,100 to North Country public school educators. Any kindergarten through 12th-grade public school teacher in the North Country, with a preference for teachers in Coös County public schools, is eligible to apply. Finalists are invited to a personal interview with Tillotson Fund staff and a volunteer selection committee. Application materials are available on the Foundation’s website at www.nhcf.org.

The 2019 Louise Tillotson Fellowship Selection Committee included: Jean Clarke, New Hampshire Charitable Foundation; Susan Wyman, retired educator; Gail Paine, former New Hampshire school board member; Katharine Eneguess, president emeritus, White Mountains Community College; and educators and former award recipients including Alicia Boire, Ann Elise Record, Cate DiBlasi, Gail Paine, Ginette White, Jeannine Brady, Jeannine LaBounty, Judy Jacques, Karen LaRoche, Kari Goulet, Linda Bennion, Lisa Kenny, Lisa Morse, Lisa Pike, Lorna Holcombe, Matt Saladino, Mary Trask, Michele Johnsen, Michele Ladd, Nancy Edwards, Patricia Weathers, Patty Hood, Richard Bond, Sandy Pouliot, Sarah Clemmitt, Sharon Atkinson, Stephanie Lyons, Susan Griffin and Tricia Walsh.

About the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation
The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation is New Hampshire’s statewide community foundation, founded in 1962 by and for the people of New Hampshire. The Foundation manages a growing collection of 2,000 funds created by generous individuals, families and businesses, and awards more than $40 million in grants and scholarships every year. The Foundation works with generous and visionary citizens to maximize the power of their giving, supports great work happening in our communities and leads and collaborates on high-impact initiatives. For more information, please visit www.nhcf.org or call 603-225-6641.