Enable Accessibility

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowships awarded to three North Country teachers

Since 2007, the Louise Tillotson Fellowship has awarded $372,500 to North Country public school educators

CONCORD, NH (PRESS RELEASE) – The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation announced its 10th year of recipients for the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship. Established in 2006, the fellowship program has the dual purpose of retaining good teachers in North Country schools and recognizing excellence in teaching in public schools.

 The 2017 recipients of the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship are: M. Matthew Saladino, guidance and school-to-career teacher, Gorham Middle High School; Kari Goulet, sixth grade teacher, Milan Village School; and Susan Griffin, second grade teacher, Brown Elementary School, Berlin. Each recipient will receive $10,000 for his or her extraordinary teaching abilities and commitment to education.

“I am always amazed by how many passionate educators we have in the North Country,” said Peter Benson, senior program officer at the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation. “The fellowship allows us to recognize their success in the classroom and help raise public awareness about the value of excellence in education.”

Since 2007, the Louise Tillotson Fellowship has awarded $372,500 to North Country public school educators. Any kindergarten through 12th grade public school teacher in the North Country, with a preference for teachers in Coos County public schools, is eligible. Applications for the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship are reviewed by Foundation staff and a volunteer selection committee. A small number of finalists are then invited to a personal interview with the selection committee. Application materials are available on the Foundation’s website at www.nhcf.org.

The Louise Tillotson Fellowship Selection Committee includes: Peter Benson, New Hampshire Charitable Foundation; Katharine Eneguess, president emeritus of White Mountains Community College; Susan Wyman, retired educator; Gail Paine, former New Hampshire school board member; and educators and former award recipients: Richard Bond, Nancy Edwards, Linda Bennion, Ginette White, Judy Jacques, Lisa Kenny, Sharon Atkinson, Michele Johnsen, Stephanie Lyons, Tricia Walsh, Karen LaRoche, Alicia Boire, Sandy Pouliot, Patricia Weathers, Sarah Clemmitt and Anne Elise Record.

About the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation
The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation is New Hampshire’s statewide community foundation, founded in 1962 by and for the people of New Hampshire. The Foundation manages a growing collection of more than 1,800 funds created by generous individuals, families and businesses, and awards nearly $40 million in grants and scholarships every year. The Foundation works with generous and visionary citizens to maximize the power of their giving, supports great work happening in our communities and leads and collaborates on high-impact initiatives. For more information, please visit www.nhcf.org or call 603-225-6641.