Enable Accessibility

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson. (Courtesy photo.)

Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowships awarded to three North Country teachers

Fellowship program has awarded more than $337,000 to public school teachers since 2006

Concord, N.H. (PRESS RELEASE) – Citing extraordinary teaching abilities and commitment to education, the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation recently announced this year’s recipients of the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship. Established in 2006, the fellowship program has the dual purpose of retaining exceptional North Country teachers and recognizing excellence in teaching in public schools.

The 2016 recipients of the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship are: Sarah W. Clemmitt, physical science, chemistry, physics and earth science teacher at Gorham Middle High School; Patricia Weathers, fourth grade teacher at Edward Fenn Elementary School in Gorham; and Ann Elise Record, Title 1 math coach, kindergarten through fifth grade at Berlin Elementary Schools. Each teacher receives $10,000 in recognition of their contributions to North Country public schools.

“We’re fortunate to have so many dedicated and passionate educators in the North Country,” said Peter Benson, senior program officer at the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation. “This fellowship allows the Foundation to recognize their success in the classroom and help raise awareness about the value of excellence in education.”

Since 2007, the Louise Tillotson Fellowship has awarded $337,500 to North Country public school educators. Any kindergarten through 12th grade public school teacher in the North Country is eligible. Preference is given to teachers in Coos County public schools. Applications for the Louise Tillotson Teaching Fellowship are reviewed by Foundation staff and a volunteer selection committee. Application materials are available on the Foundation’s website, www.nhcf.org.

The Louise Tillotson Fellowship Selection Committee includes: Peter Benson, New Hampshire Charitable Foundation; Katharine Eneguess, president emeritus of White Mountains Community College; Susan Wyman, retired educator; Gail Paine, former member of the New Hampshire State Board of Education; and Richard Bond, Nancy Edwards, Linda Bennion, Ginette White, Judy Jacques, Lisa Kenny, Sharon Atkinson, Michele Johnsen, Stephanie Lyons, Tricia Walsh, Karen LaRoche, Mary Trask, Cate DiBlasi, Michele Ladd, Alicia Boire, Sandy Pouliot, and Lorna Holcombe, educators and former award recipients.

About the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation
The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation is New Hampshire’s statewide community foundation, founded in 1962 by and for the people of New Hampshire. The Foundation manages a growing collection of more than 1,700 funds created by generous individuals, families and businesses, and awards more than $30 million in grants and scholarships every year. The Foundation works with generous and visionary citizens to maximize the power of their giving, supports great work happening in our communities and leads and collaborates on high-impact initiatives. For more information, please visit www.nhcf.org or call 603-225-6641.