Enable Accessibility

Caroline and Martin Gross Fellowship

The Caroline and Martin Gross Fellowship honors individuals for their extraordinary work in public service. This annual award is made in tribute to Caroline and Martin Gross, whose dedication to public service will live on through the work of the fellowship recipients.

Caroline, a New Hampshire native, worked in numerous positions in the New Hampshire House of Representatives, the Governor’s office and as a State Representative from Concord. In 1989, she was appointed House Majority Leader, a position she held until her death in 1993. Upon her death, her husband Martin Gross, along with additional family, friends and colleagues, established the Caroline L. Gross Fellowship to nurture the next generation of public servants.

Martin Gross, a former mayor of Concord and chair of the Foundation’s board of directors, passed away in 2016. His wife of 16 years, Deirdre Sheerr-Gross, wanted to see the fellowship continue in the memory of both Caroline and Martin, and his name was added to the fellowship’s title.

The fellowship enables an individual involved in New Hampshire’s public sector to attend a three-week summer seminar at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.


  • Eligibility

    Individuals who hold an elected or appointed position in a state, county, or municipal government within New Hampshire and also demonstrate the highest standards of performance in public service will be considered for this fellowship.

    In general, the selection committee looks for candidates who meet the following requirements:

    • Experience in public service
    • Capacity to benefit from the program
    • Desire to enhance and improve the public decision-making process in New Hampshire
  • Grant amount

    A stipend to cover tuition, room and board to attend the Senior Executives in State and Local Government three week seminar at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University in June or July.

  • Previous recipients

    2019: Elizabeth Dragon – City Manager, City of Keene, New Hampshire

    2018: James Vara – Chief of Staff and Associate Attorney General, New Hampshire Department of Justice

    2017: Terence Pfaff – Chief of Staff, New Hampshire House of Representatives

    2016: Craig Welch – Executive Director, Portsmouth Housing Authority

    2015: Stephen Shurtleff – House Minority Leader, New Hampshire House of Representatives

    2014: John Beardmore – Commissioner, New Hampshire Dept. of Revenue Administration

    2013: Tina Nadeau – Chief Justice, New Hampshire Superior Court

    2012: Christopher D. Clement, Sr – Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Transportation

    See a complete list of previous award recipients.

  • Nomination and application deadlines

    The Fellowship is suspended for 2021. Please check back for 2022 application deadline.

Nomination process

Step 1

Learn more about the Senior Executives in State and Local Government program at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government and determine eligibility for the fellowship.

Step 2

Colleagues complete and submit a nomination form.

Complete and submit a nomination form to nominate an individual for the Caroline and Martin Gross Fellowship. Multiple nominations for the same candidate will be accepted. Self-nominations are discouraged.

Send via email to Jessica.Kierstead@nhcf.org or by USPS mail to:

Caroline and Martin Gross Fellowship
New Hampshire Charitable Foundation
37 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-4005

Application and grant process

Step 1

Nomination(s) accepted by Foundation staff, candidate invited to apply.

Once nominated, a candidate will be notified in mid-February by Foundation staff and will be invited to submit an application.

Step 2

Log in or create new profile on ScholarshipSource.

The Caroline and Martin Gross application can be found at ScholarshipSource. Simply go to ScholarshipSource and sign in or click on “First Time Users Create Account” to create an account.

Step 3

Complete online application.

The Fellowship is suspended for 2021. Please check back in Spring 2022 to learn when the ScholarshipSource online application will be available.

Step 4

Invitation for a personal interview.

Finalists will be selected in late March and invited for an interview with the selection committee in April.

Step 5

Recipient selected.

If you are selected, you will be notified in April.

We're here to help

  • Jessica Kierstead
  • Student Aid Officer